Slow Food Upstate

Supporting Good, Clean and Fair Food

Speaking on GMO and Labeling in NC Bill Eckler, County Commissioner Rutherford County

« Back to calendar « Previous Event | Next Event »
Monday January 7, 2013 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
289 North Main St. Rutherfordton, NC 28139  (map)

Rutherford County Commissioner - Bill Eckler

Bill has asked if we can organize a few folks to speak about GMOs to the Rutherford County Commissioners on Monday, January 7, 2013 @ 6:oo P.M. Those who appear are given three minutes to speak.

The meeting will be held


289 N. Main St.

Rutherfordton, NC 28139



The Rutherford Commissioners will be meeting with NC State legislators on January 18th - Bill wants to push them to sponsor a North Carolina GMO labeling bill. He feels that our input could be beneficial toward this end.


If you would like to attend or speak, please contact

Ms. Samm Simpson

IRT Mission Partner

GMO Educator

North Carolina USA

828 288 4855

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In


Subscribe to our E-News

Become a Member of Slow Food

Membership matters! Slow Food members are the lifeblood of this organization, providing the necessary financial support to power the global movement, the devotion to living Slow and making “good, clean and fair food for all” a reality.

Join Us!

As a member, you choose your local chapter, Slow Food Upstate.

When you choose the Upstate as your local chapter, we offer such benefits as:

  • priority notification and discounts to our events
  • annual members only meeting
  • an invitation to participate in our members only cooking classes
  • 10% off books at the Earth Market Greenville
  • become part of the selection team for "Upstate Snail Blazer" Awards

Upcoming Events

Thursday, Aug 6 at 6:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 8 at 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 8 at 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Thursday, Aug 13 at 6:15 PM - 8:00 PM

Slow Food Upstate Board

Janette Wesley, Chapter Leader

Linda Lee, Co-Chair

Joe Augello , Treasurer

Lil Glenn, Secretary

Mary Carney

Sarah Flick

Mary Hayes

Donna Johnston

Eve King

Dr. Beth Kunkle

Jordon Lea

Vivian Portunato

Chris Sermons

Renato Vicario

Dr. Nancy Walker

Brittney Waller

Emily Yepes


Advisory Board

Anna Kate Hipp

Jim Ritchie